Judgement | I-Taweh

  • $9.99

About this product

Donavan Cunningham aka I-Taweh is a well-experienced reggae live and studio musician who has recorded at several renowned studios in Jamaica and in the US and who has played live around the world for a long list of artists, among others for Capleton, Anthony B and Tanya Stephens, just to name a few. As an established guitarist, he is also known as Danny Gitz, but his instrumental skills are not at all limited to this instrument. On his new second solo album Judgement, after Overload in 2011, I-Taweh not only took care of the guitar recordings for every single riddim on the 16 track strong new album, he also played bass, percussion, backing vocals and obviously, he is also the lead singer. With Dean Fraser and Nambo Robinson in the brass section, as well as some of I-Taweh’s long-term drummer colleagues, the instrumental section of the album is in the hands of experts. Unfortunately, Nambo passed away recently, after live appearances had already been scheduled for several concerts in the US.

With Judgement, the multi-instrumentalist I-Taweh created 13 strong instrumentals of high quality, which also justifies the three additional dub versions of No Night, Come Away and the title song Judgement. A great part of the album was recorded under I-Taweh’s own supervision or, as mentioned above, by himself and was published through his own independent label Tap Nat Muzik on February 1 2017.

 Those who enjoy tight, authentic, and perfectly recorded and mixed roots reggae riddims and are ok with not to going beyond that, or those who prefer easy listening, are certainly at the right address here, however, as a singer and songwriter, I-Taweh by far doesn’t show his full potential on this album.


01. Black Maria
02. My Guitar
03. Make It (Rainy Day)
04. Judgement (Love Youths)
05. Battlefield
06. Never Fade Away
07. Guinep Tree
08. Herb Treez
09. Bad Man
10. Hold On
11. No Night
12. Come Away
13. One Room Shack
14. Judgement Dub
15. Come Away from Dub
16. No Night in Dub



Customer Review

Based on 1 review Write a review